NGS Course Reviews


no_picture   Sarah Scaife, Adaptimmune


Introduction to NGS Workshop 2021 (online)

20 July 2021


A brilliant introduction to NGS analysis. Very clear explanations and a well thought-out structure.


no_picture   Christin Kossmann, Zealand Pharma


Introduction to NGS Workshop 2021 (online)

19 July 2021


The course provided a good introduction of NGS, covering the theory, practical issues and had a focus on the data analysis. For me personally, the last day of the course was not relevant, because I use NGS for phage display and the analysis was focussed on whole genome sequencing, including variant analysis, which I won't need. But everything was explained well for starters and the hands on experience using Linux was very useful.


no_picture   Arne Praznik, National institute of Chemistry


Introduction to NGS Workshop 2021 (online)

19 July 2021


Very good workshop, covers most of the basics of NGS data analysis that i was hoping for with nice, in-depth explanations for each commands and tools used.


no_picture   Noah Legall, University of Georgia


Nextflow Workshop 2021 (online)

12 May 2021


I really enjoyed the nature of the workshop, I felt that everything was very approachable for the attendees to learn even if the experience was lacking. I witnessed some of my classmates who have no experience ask very detailed questions through the course of the workshop, so I think it is a testimonial to how informational the content of the workshop was.


no_picture   Sanja Duvnjak, Croatian Veterinary Institute


Introduction to NGS Workshop 2021 (online)

12 May 2021


I was blown away by the Course. I did some similar courses in the past and got little or nothing from them. This workshop gave me the ability to understand what is actually written in the command line, how to read it and the data and how to do the simple analysis myself. I am not terrified of the command line anymore. Actually, I can't get enough of it now. Also, I tried to reproduce the whole pipeline on my own data and actually got it all done using the knowledge and the resources from the workshop. All I need now is experince in reading the analysis :-D


no_picture   Cecilia Mittelberger, Laimburg Research Centre


Nextflow Workshop 2021 (online)

12 May 2021


It was an interesting course where I could learn a lot. It was not only interesting to see how nextflow itself works, but also very helpful to understand how such pipeline-tools work. Now I will be able to use such pipelines.


no_picture   Winny Varikatt, ICPMR, Westmead Hospital, Sydney


Introduction to NGS Workshop 2021 (online)

4 May 2021


This is a fantastic course for beginners planning to self analyse NGS data. The course is well organised and explained in an easy common man language.


no_picture   André Riedl, Bavarian Nordic


Introduction to NGS Workshop 2021 (online)

3 May 2021


The handout, as well as the setting (terminal lock-in and zoom) was absolute in time and accurate. The frame of the workshop equips one with enough information to get started for the first NGS data set analysis. The four trainers were super friendly, open to help and most competent. The course is highly recommended.


no_picture   Shruti Parikh, Guardant Health


Introduction to NGS Workshop 2021 (online)

3 May 2021


It was a great course, well setup to work smoothly in a remote setting. The instructors were very knowledgable and managed to explain Linux commands and the steps of the NGS analysis pipeline in a simple easy-to-understand manner. The interactive exercises kept the group well engaged. I highly recommend to anyone wanting to get their feet wet in the world of bioinformatics.


no_picture   Esra , n/a


Introduction to NGS Workshop 2021 (online)

1 May 2021


(1) good Introduction, (2) hands on an practical, (3) technic worked quiet well, (4) good supervision with the shared terminal, (5) good material with stept by step (and really step by step) instruction


no_picture   Liliana Mochmann, Ludwig Maximillian Univ.


Introduction to NGS Workshop 2021 (online)

30 April 2021


This course was excellent in obtaining updated tools for NGS analyses. Since the tools or applications change quickly over time, I felt up to date on how to proceed with my own projects. The course gave an excellent workflow or overview of NGS data processing from beginning to end. It was extremely convienent to take this class online.


no_picture   Christina Gress, Fraunhofer ITEM


Introduction to NGS Workshop 2021 (online)

5 March 2021


Hello dear ecSeq team, the course was great! Perfect pace (it wasn't boring at any point but also not too fast), super understandable English, positive and infectious atmosphere, gave a super overview of the big picture. A huge compliment especially to David! The background help with programming was also always patient and helpful! Would recommend anytime!


no_picture   Greice, Free University of Bozen- Bolzano


Introduction to NGS Workshop 2020 (online)

16 December 2020


This was a well done course, good job everyone! I really enjoyed it. The bioinformaticians were really good at explaining and guiding us with the NGS data. I especially liked the fact that we could have technical support with explanations directly on the Linux terminal, so we could immediately understand what mistakes were made while writing the various commands. I think this course is useful for people who have no experience with NGS data and Linux, but not only.


no_picture   Lea Zillich, n/a


Introduction to NGS Workshop 2020 (online)

14 December 2020


I enjoyed the workshop and felt like I was learning the necessary tools to start analyzing sequencing data. At the same time I did not feel like paying ~1000 EUR was justified.


no_picture   Nastasja Merle, Philipps University Marburg, ZTI, Molecular Oncology


Introduction to NGS Workshop 2020 (online)

11 December 2020


I was really looking forward to your NGS Data Analysis Course and I was not disappointed! I could really dip in the big world of NGS and learned what to do with huge amounts of data and how to process them efficiently. The course offers a great view on NGS Data Analysis in only 3 days. Can definitely recommend!


no_picture   Chloe Gulliver, University of Glasgow


Summer School 2020

2 December 2020


An amazing workshop for anybody interested in an introduction to NGS data analysis!


no_picture   Inese Polaka, University of Latvia


Introduction to NGS Workshop 2020 (online)

21 October 2020


I learned so much from this course. Thank you. I had previously had metagenomics and metataxonomics courses, which have not been enough for the depth and growing number of our gut microbiome studies. I have an IT background and this course was very well taught, I had no problem keeping up and I am sure this will help me grow even further in this direction.


no_picture   Edmund Tung, Queen Mary Hoposital


Introduction to NGS Workshop 2020 (online)

21 October 2020


The course is comprehensive covering both theory and hands-on practical aspects. It is an excellent course for beginner in the field of Bioinformatics.


no_picture   Narmin Akhundova, Azerbaijan Food Safety Institute


Introduction to NGS Workshop 2020 (online)

21 October 2020


To be honest, I am not good at online learning. However, the NGS Data Analysis workshop was well designed/organized that I even did not feel the difficulties being away from the instructors. I am quite happy to attend this workshop and I believe I have learned a lot.


no_picture   Gulnara Guluzade, Azerbaijan Food Safety Institute


Introduction to NGS Workshop 2020 (online)

21 October 2020


The training was so informative and the practical part meets all expectations.


no_picture   Pasquale Tripodi, Research Centre for Vegetable and Ornamental Crops (CREA), Italy


Introduction to NGS Workshop 2020 (online)

20 October 2020


I found the course 'Next-Generation Sequencing Data Analysis: A Practical Introduction' excellent to improve my skills. I had several gaps in knowledge, which have been well addressed in the course. Starting from raw data we went step-by-step through variant calling and further interpretation. It is very intensive, but the way how it is organized allow beginners in this field to follow all steps even without any skills in Linux commands. The tutors are open to any questions and helpful in any steps required. I strongly recommend this course for anyone dealing with NGS data.


no_picture   Antonina Karakostova, University of Copenhagen


Summer School 2020

20 October 2020


Excellently structured and polished workshop! The material was challenging but the way it was presented made it easy to follow and fun to engage with. The tutors made the learning environment really friendly and safe, and I got much more out of this workshop than I initially expected. Thank you!


no_picture   Elisabeth M., LK Mistelbach


Introduction to NGS Workshop 2020 (online)

19 October 2020


Surprisingly I got sucked into the topic, which I thought would be very boring. I have the feeling I learned a lot and can understand the sequencing process much better. Thank you!


no_picture   Tianhao Zhao, University of Groningen


Introduction to NGS Workshop 2020 (online)

19 October 2020


It is a very condensed course, covering really practical tricks for beginners on coding in Linux, and basically all the primary steps dealing with NGS data. Really worths the contribution of the fee and the time spent :)


no_picture   Jeremie Gras, SBMM JM Gras


Summer School 2020

12 October 2020


Excellent workshop with outstanding teachers! I highly recommend it to anyone interested in Bioinformatics and/or NGS. Excellent organization in a great location. The invited talks were also outstanding.


no_picture   Jürgen Krücken, Freie Universität Berlin


Summer School 2020

12 October 2020


An excellent course with just the right mixture of theoretical background, direct work in the command line and already preprepared intermetiate material to exucute certain analyses requiring more calculation time than available in a Course. I learnt a lot and this was really helpful.


no_picture   Markus Fehrholz, Monasterium Laboratory GmbH


RNA-Seq Workshop 2020

6 October 2020


The workshop was exactly like promised and I learned a lot. In fact, I am already regularly using the learned methods in my daily work.


no_picture   Gerard Schaafsma, Lund University


Introduction to NGS Workshop 2020 (online)

10 June 2020


Good course, but the Linux part was for me too big (experienced Linux user) although I still picked up something new.


no_picture   Lynsey W., USA


Introduction to NGS Workshop 2020 (online)

4 June 2020


This was an excellent course and I highly recommend it for anyone beginning to learn NGS data analysis. All of the topics were explained very well and it was the right amount of information for my first time taking a course on NGS data and using the Linux command line.


no_picture   Dr. Michael Helmut Hagemann, University of Hohenheim


Introduction to NGS Workshop 2020 (online)

4 June 2020


It was a good and easy to follow introduction into the topic and even though I had some prior experience with some of the tool presented it filled some knowledge gabs and will improve my work in the future.


no_picture   Vera Kohlbauer, LMU Hospital Munich


RNA-Seq Workshop 2020

26 March 2020


It was a really good workshop with a high learning curve for me.


no_picture   Jose M Prieto, University College London


RNA-Seq Workshop 2020

8 March 2020


The instructors (Christian and Gero) were professional, authoritative and diligently attended all questions and doubts from the attendants. I was very new to the bioinformatics World and the 4 days were very intense, completely interactive and full of information. The course contents is very well curated, and pace & timing extremely well managed. Well done guys!


no_picture   Souad Rahmouni, University of Liege, GIGA-Institute


RNA-Seq Workshop 2020

6 March 2020


The content of the course met my expectations and needs as a new PI in the field of IBD immunogenetics. I very much appreciated the "behind scene" approach for few pipelines and the global overview of different approaches to correctly address the biological questions. I am very grateful to Christian and Gero who clearly demystified the RNAseq analysis part. I still need a lot of practice but I am very confident that I can do it now!


no_picture   Antonia Niedobtiek, DRFZ Berlin


Introduction to NGS Workshop 2019

27 December 2019


I very much benefited from the participation in this workshop. I liked the balance between pratical exercises and theoretical introduction into the subject. I always felt supported by the workshop leaders and my questions were answered sufficiently.


no_picture   Mohammed Alshehri, Najran university


Introduction to NGS Workshop 2019

18 December 2019


It was an awesome course!


no_picture   Lylia Hamel, Algaius


Introduction to NGS Workshop 2019

17 December 2019


This first workshop of NGS Introduction, is an excellent step for beginners in NGS data analysis and bioinformatics diagnostics. This technology transfered to us from experts with a very generous know-how and strong knowledges,the used tools are "open source". So, dont hesitate to get more familiar with "Algorithms"...


no_picture   Adela Benesova, Institute of haematology and blood transfusion, Prague


Introduction to NGS Workshop 2019

16 December 2019


The workshop was very professional and of high quality. In very short time we went through linux basics to complex data evaluation. I am very satisfied.


no_picture   Mittelberger Cecilia, Laimburg Research Centre


Introduction to NGS Workshop 2019

16 December 2019


The Next-Generation Sequencing data analysis introduction course gives a good overview about the technology itself and especially about the handling of raw data. It helps to understand Linux and how to use it for NGS data analysis.


no_picture   Johanna Huoman, Linköping University, Sweden


Bisulfite-Seq Workshop 2019

18 November 2019


The course gave a really deep and still concise overview of the basics of analysing bisulphite sequencing data. Good pedagogics skill from the very knowledgable course leaders made even the most complex features of the analyses comprehensible.


no_picture   Rachel Grimes, Trinity College Dublin/ Department of Agriculture, Food and the Marine, Ireland


Introduction to NGS Workshop 2019

6 November 2019


I would highly recommend this course to anyone beginning to work with NGS data. The practical aspect combined with the theory behind the analytical processes is a great starting point for interpreting your own data.


no_picture   Victor Ionescu, Victor Babes National Institute of Research in Pathology


Introduction to NGS Workshop 2019

6 November 2019


This workshop was an amazing introduction into NGS. I liked that the basics were well laid out and I now have a much clearer image of the entire workflow (it can appear quite literally opaque from the outside). The explanations on sequencing by synthesis, adapters and the way paired ends work were well laid out and put things into context for me as a wet lab researcher. I had used Linux for a number of years, but I was very surprised to learn that you can do almost everything by only basic programs that have been around since forever. As for the mapping tools, the stats & maths behind them are surely much deeper than I can comprehend, but you gave a good starting point - and of course each use case will have different optimal solutions. The genome viewer helped a lot, as well as explanations for the various file formats. I liked that the course was fully interactive and that participants were actively encouraged to ask questions. I will now try exploring RNAseq datasets of white blood cells (the domain that I work in) and see what I useful info I can come up with. I'd also like to delve into bisulfite sequencing (at least targeted) but that's more of a long shot for another project I work in.


no_picture   Mohammed ashraf, Aston University


Introduction to NGS Workshop 2019

5 November 2019


A very good course that shows the background to how ngs data analysis is done. Some knowledge of Linux and programming will help a lot in the course.


no_picture   Ben Wagstaffe, Aston University


Introduction to NGS Workshop 2019

28 October 2019


Incredibly informative. Provided a great introduction to the programmes and can't wait to apply what we have learnt.


no_picture   Christian Vogeley, Leibniz Research-Institute for Environmental Medicine


RNA-Seq Workshop 2019

1 October 2019


This course gave me a great introduction to the field of RNASeq analysis. It was well structured and conveyed all the information, which are required - except of some basic computer skills - to analyse your own data sets. Beside the practical skills, there was also a great focus on the theoretical background, which was well described by using simple examples. In summary, this course gave a nice overview of current RNA-Seq analysis methods and how results can be visualized. I can strongly recommend this course.


no_picture   Turhan Markussen, Norwegian University of Life Sciences


RNA-Seq Workshop 2019

28 September 2019


Excellent workshop!


no_picture   Vivien Lortzing, Freie Universität Berlin, Applied Zoology/ Animal Ecology


Summer School 2019

30 June 2019


Excellent!!!!!!!!!!!!


no_picture   Martin Sperfeld, Weizmann Institute of Science


Summer School 2019

26 June 2019


I was amazed by the excellent course structure, preparedness of the teachers, and practical relevance. The course allows in immediate start in NGS RNA-seq data analysis.


no_picture   Homood As Sobeai, King Saud University


Summer School 2019

25 June 2019


Great workshop. I learned alot.


no_picture   Donald Cameron, Karolinska Institutet


Summer School 2019

24 June 2019


This was by some distance the best bioinformatics workshop I have attended. It was great to consolidate everything I had previously learnt into a clear and concise framework. The tasks were challenging but manageable, and the three speakers were excellent. I would recommend this workshop to anyone with beginner/intermediate skills in sequencing analysis who wants to get more comfortable working in Linux and running sequencing pipelines.


no_picture   Felipe Padilla, Medical University of Bialystok


Summer School 2019

24 June 2019


Really good workshop, the information given to us was as much as you can learn in one week. Happy to had learn new info and techniques to analyze data.


no_picture   Lisa-Marie Schmid, LMU München


RNA-Seq Workshop 2019

15 April 2019


Thanks for this great workshop. Even though I am no bioinformatician I learned a lot about the different steps of RNASeq data analysis. Not only the linux based commands but also the nice overview how the sequencing process itself works helped me a lot to get a deeper insight and understanding for library preparation and analysis.


no_picture   Ida Jentoft, Max Planck Insitute for Biophysical Chemistry


RNA-Seq Workshop 2019

12 April 2019


The course was simply great! I was looking for an introduction to RNA seq analysis without need of prior experience and got exactly what I was looking for. The pace, the information and the structure of the course was perfect. It was a good mix of theory, going through exercises as a group and then trying it out for yourself to get a feel for it. I really learnt a lot, and the course leaders were extremely knowledgeable.


no_picture   Janna, Trinity College Dublin


RNA-Seq Workshop 2019

12 March 2019


very interesting and important course for RNA-seq analysis


no_picture   Van Heetvelde Mattias, Ghent University


RNA-Seq Workshop 2019

27 Febuary 2019


A very clear and functional introductory course to RNASeq data analysis. Very easy to follow, adequately presented and all course material was provided on site. A very nice touch was that they provided the possibility of taking home all digital files created during the course on a USB-drive.


no_picture   Prof. Mark E. Hauber, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA


RNA-Seq Workshop 2019

26 Febuary 2019


I came with little practical knowledge of RNA-seq, and when I returned home, I was ready to analyze my own data!


no_picture   Bouchet, Sylvan Europe


Introduction to NGS Workshop 2019

7 Febuary 2019


Great introductive course! Very clear and informative, perfect to enter the world of NGS data analysis.


no_picture   Patrícia, UFRRJ


Introduction to NGS Workshop 2019

6 Febuary 2019


Very helpful, well organized. I loved the course.


no_picture   Anette Wolff, University of Bergen


Introduction to NGS Workshop 2019

4 Febuary 2019


I am a senior reseacher and my education basis is molcular biology. I am PI of several genetical including GWAS and human genome sequencing, but I have never performed the analyses myself. I wanted to attend the course to be able to guide analyses and to discuss the analysation part with the bioinformaticians. The course was exactly perfect for my intention and for my level. I really learned a lot and actually liked it! I can use a lot of this in my «everyday» activities, also in writing proposals etc., because I understand more about the work load and the lever of expertise needed.


no_picture   Joanna Dubrowska, NVRI in Pulawy (Poland)


Introduction to NGS Workshop 2018

15 January 2019


The course was very well prepaired and good lead by Mario and David.


no_picture   Oluwakemi Taiwo, Ladoke Akintola University Of Technology


Introduction to NGS Workshop 2018

15 December 2018


Well organized, focused,amiable learning environment


no_picture   Dominik Buob, CureVac AG


Introduction to NGS Workshop 2018

13 December 2018


I was very positive surprised, how well the presenting and teaching of this Technology was. Overall the speed and the difficulty were very nice and helpful. The Organisation was well planned and the benefit that each of us, had a computer were very efficient for the direct excercise. So thanks a lot, I will definitely recommend this curse.


no_picture   Andrey Kirov, IMDL Genome Centre Bulgaria


Introduction to NGS Workshop 2018

10 December 2018


The course was very useful and entirely practically oriented.


no_picture   Karen Chapman, n/a


Bisulfite-Seq Workshop 2018

8 December 2018


This was a great workshop. Really well organized, great materials and outstanding teachers who presented the subject matter with clarity.


no_picture   Sandeep Grover, IMBS, Luebeck, Germany


Bisulfite-Seq Workshop 2018

5 December 2018


Positives:
1) I think both the lecturers were highly dedicated and very knowledgeable. 2) The course content was also very well documented. 3) All were very helpful and responsive to queries. 4) I think R and terminal commands were explained in a very efficient manner. 5) Lunch was well-organized.

Negatives:
1) The workshop was very fast paced from the beginner's point of view and packed with content. It would be ideal to either split it into two 4-day workshops or conduct a two-week course. 2) At times, some of the classes went on and on for 2.5 hours at a stretch. It doesn't make any sense for a candidate who has come to learn because one loses concentration after 40 min. 3) Please provide scripts in a R or txt file to students.


no_picture   Sarka Sestakova, Institute of Hematology and Blood Transfusion


Bisulfite-Seq Workshop 2018

5 December 2018


Very helpful from the practical point of view, clear explanation of every issue, experienced trainers that answered all my questions, great place, I loved it!


no_picture   Bernice Sepers, NIOO-KNAW


Bisulfite-Seq Workshop 2018

5 December 2018


Very good workshop. The first two days contained information that I heard before, but it was really nice to hear it again, because it made me understand it better (Illumna, quality control). The last two days contained new information, like methylation calling and making plots, which is also very useful for my project. The workshop is intense, but the level and speed were just right. I would recommend new participants to gain a little bit of experience with Linux before attending the workshop.


no_picture   Sara Madzgalla, Insitut für Infektionsmedizin und Krankenhaushygiene, Uniklinikum Jena


RNA-Seq Workshop 2018

20 November 2018


The Workshop was very well designed. The description on the webpage was very good concurring with the content of the workshop and requirenments to the participants. As I did work through the Linux tutorial before, the first day was a bit boring for me, but a good practice at all. The second and third day I learned a lot of things. As I did not work with RNA-Seq before, the last day contained a bit a lot Information. The practical parts I could follow easily and the time was quite right so solve the tasks. The amount of paricipants felt ok.


no_picture   Wim Develter, AZ Lier (Hospital)


Introduction to NGS Workshop 2018

17 October 2018


Very satisfied though very condensed and intense course for a starter like me. Basic knowledge is recommended.


no_picture   Sophie Bartsch, Fraunhofer IZI


Introduction to NGS Workshop 2018

28 August 2018


One of the best workshops I ever attended. The organization was just great. The small excercises during the workshop were quite useful to internalize the contents. It was fairly easy to follow even if one has not worked with linux before. I would strongly recommend the workshop!


no_picture   Ioanna Gkogka, Molecular Biology and Genetics Democritus University of Thrace, Greece


Summer School 2018

22 July 2018


Great experience, helpful and approachable instructors, interesting and well organized workshop. This course provided necessary training in NGS that can be used in research projects. Personally, being in the early stages of my undergraduate studies in Molecular Biology and Genetics this workshop really inspired me and expanded my horizons. More specifically, by meeting participants from all around the world who are involved in various fields of science, attending talks from external guest speakers who described their career path and getting to know the instructors of the course who were full of enthusiasm about Bioinformatics, I realized the interconnection between the scientific fields and the different professional options that I could potentially be involved with in the future.


no_picture   Nelida Rodriguez-Osorio, University of the Republic of Uruguay


Summer School 2018

12 July 2018


The course was very well organised, the trainers were able to cater to the different needs of the participants, which had very different backgrounds. The atmosphere was relaxed, and the trainers made us feel comfortable to ask any question. The


no_picture   Kevin Leclerc, New York University


Summer School 2018

10 July 2018


An overall comprehensive and effective overview of the RNA-seq pipeline, from sample-prep considerations to high-level analysis and visualization.


no_picture   Geethanjali Devadoss Gandhi, Sidra Medicine, Qatar


Summer School 2018

8 July 2018


I personally enjoyed the full course and it makes me very confident to do my future NGS analysis though I don't have a bioinformatics background. Everything was well organized and executed in a most efficient way for the participants. Simply, I can say that this course will make you gain confidence and extensive knowledge in the field of NGS bioinformatics. I loved it!!


no_picture   Michael Riemann, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology


Summer School 2018

3 July 2018


This was a great workshop about different aspects of NGS data analysis focussing on putting analysis into practise. Motivated trainers with different expertises guided through the course excercises and in addition invited speakers gave a good idea about what NGS data might be useful for in different fields. Having some basic programming knowledge is certainly an advantage for following the practical parts.


no_picture   Kevin, ViennaLab Diagnostics


Introduction to NGS Workshop 2018

2 May 2018


The workshop was excellent. Speakers were very knowledgeable, ready and able to answer questions at all times. Great working material, with the workbook and the USB stick one can easily reproduce all the tasks.


no_picture   Jan Schulze-Lührmann, Mikrobiologisches Institut, Universitätsklinikum Erlangen


RNA-Seq Workshop 2018

22 March 2018


Intensiver Kurs, extrem an Wissen gewonnen. Kompetente und motivierende "Trainer" und ein toller Gesamtüberblick. Das Kursbuch und besonders der LiveSystem USB-Stick sind super Toll und ermöglichen das weitere Üben, intensivieren des Gelernten.


no_picture   Surasak Sangkhathat, Prince of Songkla University, Thailand


Introduction to NGS Workshop 2017

13 December 2017


Nice class for a comprehensive beginning of NGS data handling


no_picture   Ralf Rosenstein, University of Tübingen, Infection Biology


Metagenomics Workshop 2017

27 October 2017


Great workshop, intense and lots of invaluable information


no_picture   Vereecke Nick, Ghent University Global Campus


RNA-Seq Workshop 2017

22 October 2017


This 'crash' course is a perfect course for quick guidance through analysis of RNA-seq and NGS analysis in general. Impressive how much new knowledge you can acquire in only 4 days!


no_picture   Stefanie Grunwald, Charité Medical Faculty Berlin


Summer School 2017

11 October 2017


I really enjoyed the course. It fulfilled my needs and definitely improved my understanding in bioinformatic tools and linux. Gaps I had are covered now. Compared to other courses I went to, in my opinion this is one of courses you are able to get started afterwards. All instructors are very kind and helpful :-).


no_picture   Agata Daszkowska-Golec, University of Silesia in Katowice, Poland


Summer School 2017

3 October 2017


It was really great performed training, prepared by experts in the field of bioinformatics. The course gave me opportunity to play with data from RNA and DNA sequencing by myself. Now I can't wait for my own results to analyze it.


no_picture   Santiago Uribe-lewis, BXT Consultants Ltd


Summer School 2017

21 September 2017


Excellent workshop! Very well taken care of!! Great fun!!! Learned a lot!!!! and met very nice people!!!! After five days of smooth scrolling over a meticulous and interactive program one gets a good grasp of the intricancies of NGS data analysis. Many thanks!


no_picture   Atie Kashef, Universitätklinikum Bonn


Summer School 2017

19 September 2017


Thanks to the very well designed and practical summer School for NGS data Analysis in Berlin I could find my feet and build up my mind in the early phase of my PhD project. I was looking for such course for a while and barely could find this opportunity to paractice NGS data analysis for both DNA and RNA approaches , having responseful mentors beside and a proper workstation available. I am very happy that I got this chance with ecSeq people.


no_picture   Magda


Summer School 2017

19 September 2017


This workshop was exactly what I was looking for - using publicly available software, comparing different tools and showing the whole process of data analysis. And I very much appreciate the idea of performing everything on the usb stick so that we can take everything we've done home and practice by ourselves.


no_picture   Ruchir Khandelwal, Rijk Zwaan Breeding B.V., The Netherlands


Introduction to NGS Workshop 2017

19 July 2017


It was one of the best introductory course I have had on the subject. The trainers go in to details of each and every nitty gritty of various topics. Also the exercises are designed very professionally and with clear learning objectives in mind. Finally, I learnt a lot many things during the discussions that are entertained very well by the trainers during the entire course.


no_picture   Haidi Arbanasic, University of Zagreb, Faculty of Science


Introduction to NGS Workshop 2017

7 July 2017


Workshop is very useful for people without experience in bioinformatics to get basic understanding of NGS data analysis, and for those with some experience to improve their knowledge. Trainers are excellent.


no_picture   Zandra Fagernas, Max Planck Institute for the Science of Human History


Introduction to NGS Workshop 2017

5 July 2017


After this workshop, I feel much more confident of my own bioinformatics skills. I can now dive into more specialized areas of bioinformatics, as I have a good basic knowledge of how everything works.


no_picture   Frederik Börnke, Leibniz-Institute of Vegetable and Ornamental Crops


Introduction to NGS Workshop 2017

5 July 2017


Being a novice to NGS data analysis this workshop was eye opening and made me confident in starting my own analyses.


no_picture   Maria Ines Alvelos, ULB Center for Diabetes Research


Introduction to NGS Workshop 2017

12 May 2017


The course was very informative and well organized. Everything was clearly explained and very helpful for beginners!


no_picture   Morgan Benowitz-Fredericks, Bucknell University


RNA-Seq Workshop 2017

29 March 2017


I was particularly impressed with the emphasis on teaching us how to THINK about our analyses, rather than just follow a series of commands. Your focus on anticipating potential sources of error, never blindly trusting that a command or piece of software has done what you think it's done without confirming (as well as teaching us ways to confirm) left us with a skill set that is independent of a particular pipeline, and will serve us well as our interests (and the available software) change. The active exercises were clearly designed extraordinarily carefully and were really effective not just in applying what we'd just learned, but in seeing how you might fall into an analysis/interpretation trap if you are not careful. This really was a mindset/philosophy of analysis training as much as it was practical training, and I value that enormously. Thank you!


no_picture   Dorota Magner, Institute of Bioorganic Chemistry Polish Academy of Sciences


RNA-Seq Workshop 2017

29 March 2017


The course was designed for people starting their work with RNA-Seq and was very well prepared and led. The information is provided in a clear and accessible manner and, most importantly, from a practical point of view. The trainers have extensive experience and provide valuable insights into the real problems arising from data analysis. I am happy to have had opportunity to attend these workshops. The knowledge and skills acquired during the workshops will be of great help in planning my own experiments and will enable me to start analyze the data on my own. I definately recommend these workshops to anyone planning RNA-seq experiments.


no_picture   Christian Bach, University Hospital Erlangen


RNA-Seq Workshop 2017

29 March 2017


The workshop was really informative and conveyed a realistic overview of current RNA-Seq analysis. I particularly liked the emphasis on taking into account the experimental conditions and the goal of the study.


no_picture   Sabine Urban, Universität Konstanz


Introduction to NGS Workshop 2017

8 March 2017


The workshop was well suited for beginners like me and was very relevant for my work. I think that what I learned will really help me to speed up analyses in the future.


no_picture   iker hernandez, Futureco BIoscience


Introduction to NGS Workshop 2016

13 December 2016


A nice start point.


no_picture   Jonathan Landry, EMBL


Bisulfite-Seq Workshop 2016

2 December 2016


Very good week of course, very useful for future\ work on DNA methylation sequencing analysis.


no_picture   Marc Lamarine, Quartz Bio


Bisulfite-Seq Workshop 2016

1 December 2016


ecSeq team pays a great attention to equip you to be on your own once back alone in your lab. They are recognised experts of the field and share not only their expertise but also their experience and views. Very valuable.


no_picture   Alexandra McCorkindale, Max Delbrück Center for Molecular Medicine


RNA-Seq Workshop 2016

7 October 2016


As someone who was previously terrified of the command line, this was a terrific course to build confidence in navigating the terminal. Moreover, I walked away with a much deeper understanding of sequencing chemistry and the relative merits of different software packages for analysing different types of sequencing data. I highly recommend this course for any wet lab biologist whether at the student, postdoc, or PI level!


no_picture   Yacine Amar, Technische Universität München / Klinikum für Dermatologie und Allergologie


RNA-Seq Workshop 2016

6 October 2016


The organisation of the Summer School was excellent.


no_picture   Lisa Kutsche, Center for Regenerative Therapies Dresden


RNA-Seq Workshop 2016

12 September 2016


There are too many things to consider when using NGS technology. I really needed a course like this to get started with a proper analysis of my own data.


no_picture   Tamas Varga, University of Debrecen


RNA-Seq Workshop 2016

12 September 2016


This was a very intensive course, which gave tremendous help to anyone trying to work with NGS data. Difficult concepts were very effectively simplified and explained. Should be a great help in anyone interested in NGS.


no_picture   Harris Onywera, Center for Genomic Regulation, Spain


Introduction to NGS Workshop 2016

6 July 2016


The ecSeq workshop on "Next-Generation Sequencing Data Analysis" was very informative. I have no doubt that I acquired new skills, thus, extended my knowledge of analyzing the big data. I am integrating most of these in my current research analyses. Thank you ecSeq Bioinformatics Team!


no_picture   Trevor Burt, ZFMK (Koenig Museum), Bonn, Germany


Introduction to NGS Workshop 2016

6 July 2016


This ECSEQ course provided a very good 3- day intensive workshop on NGS, Analysis, and BASH to give anyone working with genetic material a good foundation to expand their research project in a number of cutting edge directions. The instructors are warm and knowledgeable and eager to help anyone sincerely interested in learning these techniques.


no_picture   Oscar Alejandro Pérez Escobar, Ludwig Maximilians Universität


RNA-Seq Workshop 2016

20 March 2016


A Beginner's Guide to RNA-Seq Data Analysis is an excellent workshop which provided me with the basic knowledge to start exploring RNA sequence data analysis and allowed me to address new questions. It includes an important component on very practical exercises, and the hands off material as well as the TI's and speakers are top quality. I highly recommend this workshop!


no_picture   Kartik Sunagar, Hebrew University


RNA-Seq Workshop 2016

15 Febuary 2016


It was an excellent workshop. Thoroughly enjoyed the experience. It was very informative and the tutors were extremely helpful.


no_picture   Alexander Nolze, Martin-Luther-University Halle-Wittenberg, Germany


RNA-Seq Workshop 2016

8 Febuary 2016


Since just having a little experience in analyzing RNA-Seq data, my knowledge about the unix environment, mapping tools and downstream analyses improved a lot during the workshop. With the help of the provided workshop materials it was quite easy to follow the excellent speakers. Several exercises supported the learning process as well.


no_picture   Kieran Meade, Teagasc, Ireland


Bisulfite-Seq Workshop 2015

22 December 2015


To go from an introduction to methylation to the complete analysis of a published dataset in 3 days is an ambitious target and I am delighted that is was so comprehensively achieved. The mix between theory and practical work is very balanced. I highly recommend this course for a strong foundation in the latest methylation analysis methods. The course leaders are experts and so helpful, and to take the operating system, data and commands home at the end of the conference is a huge benefit.


no_picture   Susana Gonzalez Fernandez-Nino, Bayer Crop Science


Summer School 2015


Good resume of the last technologies and applications. Definitly will improve the comunication with our bioinformatics colleagues for perfom the proper analysis and understanding of the data. Thanks for an intensive but nice course.


no_picture   Jakub Mrazek, Institute of Animal Physiology and Genetics, Czech Academy of Sciences, Prague


Summer School 2015


Excellently prepared and performed workshop (from both organizing teams). A lot of information provided.


no_picture   Young Tae Kim, Seoul National University Hospital


Introduction to NGS Workshop 2015


The ECSEQ RNA analysis course is one of the best courses. All the trainers were awesome. Many thanks to all of you.


no_picture   Michaela Müller-McNicoll, Goethe-University Frankfurt


Introduction to NGS Workshop 2015


Very good course, perfect for my needs.


no_picture   Markus Eszlinger, University of Leipzig


Introduction to NGS Workshop 2015


Thanks a lot for a very interesting course that significantly improved my knowledge on NGS data analysis.


no_picture   Tobias Schmid, Goethe-University Frankfurt, Germany


Introduction to NGS Workshop 2015


The workshop provided a great introduction into the analysis of NGS data for me as a wet lab biologist. The one day introduction into Linux was an absolute asset. Thanks to the course, I now feel comfortable both to discuss my NGS analysis needs with a bioinformatician more competently, but also to take first steps in NGS analyses myself.


no_picture   Paul Essers, Max Planck Institute for Biology of Ageing


RNA-Seq Workshop 2014


As a wet lab biologist, I have been dabbling in analysing my RNA-seq data myself. This course gave me a lot of context about mapping and differential expression software that I hadn't been able to grasp on my own. This knowledge will certainly improve the quality of my analyses. Additionally, I learned a lot of handy Linux commands and tricks that make my life a lot easier.


no_picture   Danny Misiak, Institut of Molecular Medicine, MLU Halle-Wittenberg


RNA-Seq Workshop 2014


Very good course, thanks for that.


no_picture   Maximilian Radtke, MFPL, University of Vienna


RNA-Seq Workshop 2014


Very efficient training in the basics of dealing with one of the most quickly evolving technologies we have.


About our NGS courses

Several times a year, we organize introductory and advanced courses on selected topics in next-generation sequencing data analysis. They take place in cities across Europe and draw participants from all over the world (see map below).


Please find additional verified reviews on our Google Business page.